• Parliament of Sri Lanka, Sri Jayawardenepura Kotte, Sri Lanka
  • +94 11 2777592

The Process

Nearly four decades after the passage of the Second Republican Constitution, broad consensus was reached within the nation to enact a constitution that reflects the present needs and aspirations of the people of Sri Lanka. The process of constitutional Reform in Sri Lanka can be broadly classified into three phases.

The first phase of the constitutional process began in January 2016 with the appointment of the Public Representations Committee for Constitutional Reforms (PRC) by the Cabinet of Ministers to seek the views of the people. 

News Updates

The third sitting of the Constitutional Assembly was held on 19th November 2016 at 9.00 am in the Chamber of Parliament, and was presided over by Hon. Karu Jayasuriya as Chairman of the Constitutional Assembly.

The First Interim Report of the Steering Committee was presented to the Constitutional Assembly by Hon. Ranil Wicremesinghe in the capacity of Chairman of the Steering Committee.

Steering Committee 2 1

The Steering Committee appointed by the Constitutional Assembly held its 27th meeting today. The three main areas under discussion presently are: Electoral Reforms, devolution and the Executive.

News pic 2 1 1o

Experts’ sessions with the Sub-Committees on Fundamental Rights and the Judiciary of the Constitutional Assembly was held on 20th and 21st July 2016 at the Committee Room of the Parliamentary Complex with the participation of International Experts.

The Steering Committee of the Constitutional Assembly which met on 19.05.2016 in Parliament, decided to extend the deadline for receiving written representations up to 31st May 2016. (Paper Advertisment)

It was decided to invite the registered political parties and professional organizations also to make representations.

(Vide Daily News of 10.05.2016)